Back to Breathing

Much of my life, I have gone without breathing –
my organs
functioning,
blood-oxygen levels 100%
technically alive.

You’d expect to find
the rise and fall
of an abdomen
and diaphragm
but all
there was
was tension.

Atop of tension amassed
lots
and lots
of lipids.

Beneath, a core of
tumultuous
trauma,
trapped.

A storm of whirling fear, shame and pain
words cannot possibly explain.

Never ceasing;
causing confusion
and identity disconnect.

You’d expect to find
supple muscle,
flexibility and
vitality
but rigor mortis
had already
set in.

The
walking
dead.

I am staggering back to breathing;
I had forgotten the life-giving rhythm
while suspended in a stupor
of sorrow and suppression.

On the way, I happened upon:
my confidence,
my courage and
my compassion.

Granting me
vision to see
into the eye
of the storm
of sorrows
waging and
warring
within.

When I stumble upon my self
I will do so with sympathy.

And then I will turn
and unforgivingly
live my life in empathy
with no apologies
for existing,
resisting or
breathing.

I hope you enjoyed this, and I would love to hear your thoughts.

There may be more of this to come 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

